L’Arche Canada’s monthly e-mail review of news, stories, and commentary about what is happening in L’Arche, with our partners, and within Canadian society.
Be informed, challenged and inspired!


Email not displaying correctly? View it in your browser.
NOVEMBER 2018

Setting our course for the next 50 years

By John Rietschlin, Chair of the Board of L’Arche Canada

“As L’Arche in Canada gathers for our national assembly in Halifax, marking the end of one mandate and the beginning of another, it is impossible not to see how we are developing and evolving both as an organization and as a community of people responding to a call…”
 


L’Arche Canada General Assembly Halifax 2018

Delegates with and without intellectual disabilities, community leaders and board members from the 29 L’Arche communities and 2 projects across Canada gathered with the L’Arche Canada Board and team in Halifax to work, pray, and celebrate together. It was a time to renew our mission through a new Mandate. And a time of transition as we expressed gratitude for Hollee Card for 19 years as National Leader and welcomed Louis Pilotte (of Quebec and a former National Leader of L’Arche France) to lead us in the new Mandate.


Louis Pilotte, new National Leader

L’Arche Canada is pleased to welcome Louis Pilotte, long term member of L’Arche and former National Leader of L’Arche France, as the National Leader of L’Arche Canada. Louis began in the role at the beginning of October. We are grateful for his “yes” to this call to lead us in the mission and vision of L’Arche.


L’Arche Canada has a new website!

Featuring a revitalized design, streamlined navigation, and content, the site is a go-to place for an overview of L’Arche and its communities in Canada, and the resources we have created to share our vision and experience with you.


Accessibility legislation tabled in Ottawa

For many Canadians, Bill C-81 will introduce them to the goal of a barrier-free Canada and what is needed to achieve access for persons with various disabilities. The Bill’s Preamble establishes the Act on a solid human rights foundation. A human rights approach to disability issues means a move away from the traditional view of people with disabilities being objects of charity, to a new understanding where we are subjects of human rights, just like everyone else. 


Canada’s Medical Regulation in Dying Regulations Fall Short

L’Arche Canada supports the Canadian Association for Community Living (CACL) and the Council of Canadians with Disabilities (CCD) in urging the federal government to strengthen the system of monitoring Medical Assistance in Dying.


Celebrating Jean Vanier’s 90th birthday

L’Arche Canada has published an online “Scrapbook” of birthday messages and photos for Jean Vanier. Jean was also interviewed on the occasion, click here to view the video “Ten rules for life”.

Jean Vanier has also just published a new book titled “We Need Each Other”, based on talks that he gave in Kenya in 2008.

Jean Vanier is profiled in a new documentary “Jean Vanier, le Sacrement de la Tendresse” by director Frédérique Bedos. You can view the trailer here.


Investing in Justice for Institutional Survivors

Patricia Seth, an institutional survivor, put it this way, “It was like living in a prison. The only thing is, we didn't know when we would even get out.” Inspired by the founding story of L’Arche, L’Arche in Ontario is engaging in Investing in Justice, a series of projects promoting healing and belonging, truth and reconciliation for survivors.

L’Arche Saskatoon’s 10th anniversary video

New Community Leaders in Saint John and Wolfville

L’Arche Canada Foundation’s Fall 2018 Impact Bulletin

A new Community Leader for L’Arche Daybreak

Please follow this link to unsubscribe.
L'Arche Canada
500, boul. Gouin Est, bureau 205, Montréal, QC H3L 3R9 Canada.
To contact us: connexions@larche.ca

Un tour d'horizon mensuel des nouvelles de L'Arche au Canada, de nos partenaires et de ce qui se passe dans la société canadienne.
Pour être informé et inspiré!


Le message ne s'affiche pas correctement? Consulter le dans votre navigateur.
NOVEMBRE 2018

Tracer la voie pour les 50 prochaines années

Par John Rietschlin, président du conseil d’administration L’Arche Canada

« Alors que L’Arche Canada se rassemble à Halifax pour notre assemblée nationale, soulignant la fin d’un mandat et le début d’un autre, il est impossible de ne pas remarquer comment nous nous développons et évoluons, à la fois comme organisation et comme une communauté de personnes répondant à un appel… »
 


Halifax 2018, l’assemblée générale de L’Arche Canada

Les délégués avec et sans déficience intellectuelle, les responsables de communautés et les membres des conseils des 29 communautés et 2 projets de L’Arche à travers le Canada se sont réunis avec le conseil de L’Arche Canada et son équipe à Halifax pour travailler, prier et célébrer ensemble. C’était le moment de renouveler notre mission avec un nouveau mandat. C’était aussi une période de transition au cours de laquelle nous avons exprimé notre gratitude envers Hollee Card pour ses 19 ans en tant que responsable national et avons accueilli Louis Pilotte (de Québec et ancien responsable national de L’Arche France) à nous guider dans le nouveau mandat.


Louis Pilotte, nouveau Responsable national

L’Arche Canada a le plaisir d’accueillir Louis Pilotte, membre de longue date de L’Arche et ancien dirigeant national de L’Arche France, à titre de Responsable national de L’Arche Canada. Louis a débuté dans le rôle au début d’octobre. Nous lui sommes reconnaissants d’avoir répondu « oui » à cet appel à nous guider dans la mission et la vision de L’Arche.


L’Arche Canada a un nouveau site Web !

Avec son design revitalisé, sa navigation et son contenu simplifiés, le nouveau site est un lieu incontournable pour un avoir un aperçu de L’Arche et de ses communautés au Canada et accéder aux ressources que nous avons créées pour partager notre vision et notre expérience.


Loi canadienne sur l’accessibilité en 2e lecture

Le projet de loi C-81 sensibilisera de nombreux Canadiens à l’objectif d’un pays exempt d’obstacles et aux mesures requises pour garantir l’accès aux personnes en diverses situations de handicaps. Le préambule ancre la loi dans de solides normes de droits de la personne. L’application de cette optique des droits de la personne aux enjeux des personnes handicapées implique que les personnes handicapées ne sont plus perçues comme de traditionnels objets de charité mais bien plus comme des sujets de droits de la personne, au même titre que les autres citoyens.


La réglementation du Canada sur l’aide médicale à mourir est insatisfaisante

L’Arche Canada appuie l’Association canadienne pour l’intégration communautaire (ACIC) et le Conseil des Canadiens avec déficiences (CCD) qui pressent le gouvernement fédéral de renforcer le système de surveillance de l’aide médicale à mourir.


Célébration des 90 ans de Jean Vanier

L’Arche Canada a publié un « album souvenir » de témoignages et photos en hommage à Jean Vanier. Jean a aussi été interviewé à l’occasion de son anniversaire : cliquez ici pour voir la vidéo « 10 règles de vie ».

Jean Vanier a un nouveau livre qui vient de paraître, titré « We Need Each Other », et basé sur des conférences qu’il a donné au Kenya en 2008.

« Jean Vanier, le Sacrement de la Tendresse », un nouveau documentaire réalisé par Frédérique Bedos, trace un portrait de Jean Vanier. Voir la bande annonce ici.


Investir dans la justice – pour les survivants des institutions

Patricia Seth, l’une des survivantes dit : « C’était comme vivre en prison, avec la différence que nous ne savions pas quand nous en sortirions. » Inspiré par l’histoire fondatrice de L’Arche, L’Arche en Ontario s’engage dans Investing in Justice, une série de projets favorisant la guérison et l’appartenance, la vérité et la réconciliation des survivants.

Une vidéo soulignant le 10e anniversaire de L’Arche Saskatoon

Nouveaux Responsables de communauté à Saint John et Wolfville

Le bulletin Impact Automne 2018 de la Fondation L’Arche Canada

Une nouvelle responsable de communauté pour L’Arche Daybreak

Pour vous désinscrire, veuillez cliquer sur ce lien.
L'Arche Canada
500, boul. Gouin Est, bureau 205, Montréal, QC H3L 3R9 Canada.
Pour nous contacter: connexions@larche.ca